K's Garden

Building a large garden on a budget

Crops Update Thursday 18 June 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — kgarden @ 12:00 am

I’ve been growing some Sweetcorn in my greenhouse, as an experiment. The Swift F1 seems to be very short, which suits the greenhouse well! My outdoor Swift is already showing the male flower forming, and its only about 18″ high. Obviously to be “Swift” it has to get on with it, and lots of growth is out.

The greenhouse plants were sown 01-Apr and planted out 04-May. They were intended to be an outdoor crop (but came on more quickly than expected) so next year I plan to sow a few a couple of weeks earlier specifically for the greenhouse.

Greenhouse Sweetcorn

Greenhouse Sweetcorn

Sweetcorn Tassel

Sweetcorn Tassel

I’ve also got some Mini Pop in the greenhouse. These aren’t a new fangled F1 variety, so are the traditional tall type. The kids love them so I included a few plants. They don’t need to be pollinated, so the fact that the leaves are hitting the roof probably doesn’t matter – I should just be able to harvest the immature cobs as they form.

Sweetcorn Mini Pop hits the Roof!

Sweetcorn Mini Pop hits the Roof!

The flowers on my Aubergine have started to set. This is good news as I am pretty sure they took ages to start setting last year, and they were only planted out (into the greenhouse border) a couple of weeks ago.

Aubergine Fruit has started Setting

Aubergine Fruit has started Setting

I had really early fruit off my Cucumbers (sown 02-March, first fruit 16-May and planted out in the greenhouse border on 25-May), but I have since read that if you don’t take the first few fruits off the plant then stalls for a while. That’s definitely what has happened as its now about a month without any fruit.

Cucumber Fruit Setting

Cucumber Fruit Setting

I harvested a few Chilli “Hot Stuff” (Sown 15-Feb, planted out in greenhouse border 12-May) and they definitely were not “Hot Stuff” !! so I’m going to let them turn Red and see if that helps.

Chilli Hot Stuff

Chilli Hot Stuff

I reckon the first Sweet Pepper (Sown 15-Feb, planted out in greenhouse border 12-May) will be ready in about a week

Sweet Peppers

Sweet Peppers

I’m going to have the first Tomatoes tonight (Sown 15-Feb, planted out in greenhouse border 26-May). Yummie!

First Tomato

First Tomato

The first few Melon have set (Sown 01-Apr, planted out in greenhouse border 26-May). Still a way to go before they are ripe, but they’ve set by themselves as I haven’t had time to stop them, train laterals, and all that paraphernalia – maybe I won’t need to?!

First Melon

First Melon

 

One Response to “Crops Update”

  1. floraselect Says:

    fantasitc effort lots of good photos.


Leave a Comment

