K's Garden

Building a large garden on a budget

Growing Galtonia candicans from Seed Sunday 15 March 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — kgarden @ 12:00 am

I saw this photo of some Agapanthus with Galtonia candicans (taken in the Savill Garden at the beginning of August)

Galtonia candicans at the Savill Gardens

Galtonia candicans at the Savill Gardens
(click to expand)

on John Grimshaw’s blog and was very taken with it. I already have a fair few blue Agapanthus (Headbourne Hybrids I think, either way I grew them from seed a few years back) and as it happens I bought a couple of Galtonia bulbs a couple of years ago; it was not a summer bulb that I knew, but I was buying bulbs from Anglia Bulbs and, as usual, got carried away and put a few extra things in my basket (including G. viridiflora which has green flowers which do not appear, to me, to be very distinctive, so that clump is off to a friend who will appreciate them more than me!)

I let one of the Galtonia candicans go to seed last year and I’ve just sown the seed today … two full sized seed trays and I’m sure I’ve sown them far more thickly than is good for them – or me! when it comes time to prick them out. They will be hundreds of seedlings I’m sure …

I read an article suggesting sowing 30-50 in a 3″ pot and then potting on, whole, to a [tall] long-Tom or Clematis pot – splitting them into smaller “clumps” if the initial seed sowing had been a bit heavy-handed, or germination better than expected. I’m probably going to regret not doing that, but I wanted to get them sown – 15-March is the busiest seed sowing time in my calendar plan … so for now they have been sown in seed trays.

A couple of years ago I missed dead heading just one flower on a Lilium regale

Lilium regale - Jul 2013

Lilium regale – Jul 2013

and when I later spotted that the seed head had matured I decided I would like more of them in the garden! That one seed head also filled two full sized seed trays.

Lily Seedlings - 18-Apr

Lily Seedlings – 18-Apr

Lily Seedlings - 22-Jun

Lily Seedlings – 22-Jun

I left those all season long in the seed tray, poor things – far too shallow for them – and then potted up the little bulbils in the Winter about 4 to a 9cm square pot, and they were left out all last summer, watered only when I remembered. I’m sure the pots were far too shallow for them. Howsoever they are now reasonable, albeit small-ish, bulbs and this week I plan to plant them out. They are probably large enough to flower this year, although the bulbs are not as large as I might buy from H W Hyde for a quid each. There are about 100 pots, so might be anywhere from 200 – 400 bulbs to plant out. When they are in full flower walking down the Shrub Border in the evening is going to be like a Chapel of Rest!

Both of them are likely to come in handy in my new Round White Garden which I am planning to plant up this Spring. Talking of Lilies I bought five varieties of White Lily (5 bulbs of each) from H W Hyde and wondering where to plant them I think I’ll put a couple in the Blue and White Shrubbery, and the rest in the White Round Garden. When they arrived I broke a couple of scales off each bulb and chucked them in some barely-damp Vermiculite in a zip-lock bag, and they should make bulbils and roots in a few weeks.

Here are some photos of the Lilies I bought:

Lily Aaron - Dwarf 35cm Double White, flowers 12cm. Early June

Lily Aaron – Dwarf 35cm Double White, flowers 12cm. Early June

Lily Sweet Surrender - 90cm White, Flowers 10cm. Mid June

Lily Sweet Surrender – 90cm White, Flowers 10cm. Mid June

Lily Gizmo - 2M White, Flowers 30cm. Early July

Lily Gizmo – 2M White, Flowers 30cm. Early July

Lily Zambesi - 1-2M White, big. Late July

Lily Zambesi – 1-2M White, big. Late July

Lily Fredo - 2-3M White. Early July

Lily Fredo – 2-3M White. Early July

 

Leave a Comment

