K's Garden

Building a large garden on a budget

Planting Eremurus – Foxtail Lilies Monday 23 March 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — kgarden @ 12:02 am

I love Foxtail lilies, elegantly tall. They don’t like my heavy soil though … I bought a few, cheap, a few years ago and chucked them in – they’ve done “OK” but they certainly aren’t what I would call spectacular. I’ve seen some stunners at Chelsea over the years but I seem to have only this one miserly photo, which definitely doesn’t show off their full potential

Foxtail Lilies - Chelsea 2014

Foxtail Lilies – Chelsea 2014

I’m not sure this year’s planting will fair any better, the place I choose to put them is the heaviest clay in my garden and, unlike my plan, they aren’t on top of a land drain – as that runs too near the front of the border and the ones I have planted, Eremurus robustus, are very tall – hopefully more than 2M

To give them a fighting chance I’ve planted them on a mound of sand, as I would do for Asparagus crowns, which have similarly spidery fleshy roots, and I covered them with compost rather than my heavy clay soil. The growing points are only just below the surface.

Eremurus robustus - Mar 2015

Eremurus robustus – Mar 2015

planted on a bed of sand

Eremurus robustus - Mar 2015

Eremurus robustus – Mar 2015

Close up

Eremurus robustus - Mar 2015

Eremurus robustus – Mar 2015

I put a cane in, before back filling, as I figured adding one later, blind, is bound to hit a root.

 

Leave a Comment

