K's Garden

Building a large garden on a budget

May 2015 Roundup Monday 1 June 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — kgarden @ 12:00 am

Can’t think why I haven’t found it before, but I’ve just enabled the “Follow” button [at the top of the menu in the right hand pane] in case you would like to receive notifications when I add an update to my blog (which is usually no more than a couple of times a month)

If you use Pinterest you might like to see the pictures that interest me on Pinterest kGarden on Pinterest – I don’t Pin everything I see! only the ones I find of interest.

05-May-2015

Broom

Broom

Berberis

Berberis

Fritillaria Stripped Beauty

Fritillaria Stripped Beauty

The description said “with a red stripe” so I presumed it would look good in the Red Border!! There is, indeed, a feint red stripe … but the flowers are definitely orange.  Showy though. I also planted some red ones and they looked really good. I’ll have a go at saving some seed, although I have no idea if they will come true (“Fritillaria rubra” sounds like a species, rather than a hybrid, so here’s hoping …)

Fritilaria - First season after planting - 10Apr2015

Fritillaria rubra – 10Apr2015

Fritillaria rubra - 20Apr2015

Fritillaria rubra – 20Apr2015

The Rubra actually started flowering in late April but held its flower well into May.

Fritillaria rubra

Fritillaria rubra

Sorry about the poor focusing of the close-up.

Woodland Walk Bluebells

Woodland Walk Bluebells

The planned “Carpet of Bluebells” !! a couple of years after planting. Can’t remember how many I planted, a couple of hundred I think so clearly some casualties, but the chaps that are established look like they will now thrive and seed.  I’m going to have to keep the “carpet of Forget-Me-Not” seedlings under control for some years to come … I am sure we haven’t had them in the garden before, and last year I saw one or two. Absolute pests as they have self seeded all over the garden in just one year and every few days I’m pulling up more that I see in flower in the hope of catching them before they seed.  I’m sure last years seed will continue to germinate for some years to come though.

Cropping Greenhouse

Cropping Greenhouse

The month started off with the cropping greenhouse full of over wintered plants, mostly Box cuttings that I am growing on and wanted to keep the winter-wet off. They were moved outside on 18-May to make way for the Tomato plants (sown early in February and grown-on under lights to bring forward the cropping date)

Tomato Planting

Tomato Planting

The strings are Polypropylene and are left up year-to-year. I stick the bottom end under the rootball when I plant and that seems to hold it firm enough to take the full weight of the plant later in the season.

Tomato Planting

Tomato Planting

Tomato Plants - 31-May-2015

Tomato Plants – 31-May-2015

As of 31-May there are two or three that look like they might have enough colour to be ripe – well, a bit “sharp” still perhaps?

Tomatoes - 31-May-2015

Tomatoes – 31-May-2015

Greenhouse

Greenhouse

The propagation greenhouse was a mess of overwintering plants.  Moved outside, hardened off, and things like Aquilegias, sown last Summer, planted out, have made space for young seedlings as the weather warmed enough for them to be safe from frost. Always a juggling act between having them in the nice warm conservatory, and divorce!!, and them being exposed to a chilly, frosty night in the greenhouse.

Acer dissectum atropurpureum

Acer dissectum atropurpureum

The Acer I bought, off eBay in January, has come into leaf and looks smashing. Not decided where I want to plant it as yet, and have kept it in a pot so I can trial it in position to see if it is happy, or not, before committing to planting it.  A bargain at £67 which is the same price as I paid for small 5 year old specimens from Barthelemy & Co, apparently this one was bought from Woolworths for 50p more than 20 years ago.

Asparagus cropping started. I have put some narrow Mypex down the middle of the bed to try to reduce the amount of hand weeding that is necessary, still loads of weeds-from-seeds though, I need to hand-weed the bed in the next few days. A disadvantage of growing Asparagus, but every time I see a bundle of half-a-dozen spears in the Supermarket for £2 or £3 I cheer myself up totting up the saving of the 100 spears a week we harvest.

3 weeks ago:

Asparagus Bed - 05-may-2015

Asparagus Bed – 05-may-2015

Today:

Asparagus Weeds - 30-May-2015

Asparagus Weeds – 30-May-2015

I grew my crowns from seed (open pollinated varieties) some years ago, and a few of the crowns produce very weedy spears, so I’m growing a few F1 all-male variety replacements which I should be able to plant out next season.

15-May-2015

Aquilegeas

Aquilegeas

Camassia - Dark Blue

Camassia – Dark Blue

Camassia - Dark Blue

Camassia – Dark Blue

First year that I have tried Camassia, but fallen in love with them. They fill a useful gap between the Spring flowering bulbs and the Summer bulbs and herbaceous plants bulking up and starting to put on their show. I’m going to have a go a saving some seed.

Camassia - Light Blue

Camassia – Light Blue

Camassia - Light Blue

Camassia – Light Blue

These look whiter in the photo, but they are actually a light blue.  I planted some white ones too, but they are only just coming into flower, I’ll post a photo next month.

Potato Planting - 17May2015

Potato Planting – 17May2015

I never plant my seed Potatoes early, as it is way too much trouble to keep any late frost off them.  But this is a bit later than normal! I do grow half a dozen bags, in the greenhouse, for some early spuds, and I usually plant a dozen chitted tubers of the fastest growing varieties of First Early which gives me some lovely new potatoes between the harvest of the bags and those from the main planting … but I just don’t see the point in rushing to plant out the majority of the potato planting and having all the hassle of earthing up every few nights and going out by torch light to pull fleece over them when the late Weather forecast reminds me that there might be a frost.  (I can imagine in an area of high blight risk it might be worth getting them in early, and thus out early too, before blight arrives)

They came through the surface after 10-12 days, which is quicker than if planted earlier in the season when the soil is still cold.

May 2015 Blog Posts and Article Updates

  • Updated the Exotic Garden article with details of how we are trying to create a disguised entrance
  • 22-May-2015 Added post Making A Japanese Stroll Garden about our plans for an oriental-themed garden, and a visit to Barthelemy & Co to see their Japanese Acers
  • 18-May-2015 Added post We’re Having A Party converting the conservatory from plant-raising back to entertainment mode
  • 18-May-2015 Added post In Other News about some trials and tribulations
 

Leave a Comment

