K's Garden

Building a large garden on a budget

Brassica Netting – against Cabbage White Butterfly Monday 4 May 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — kgarden @ 12:00 am

Brassica plants were getting large, so I needed to do something about netting them against Cabbage White Butterfly.

I bought some Debris Netting off eBay [although it came from Tarpaflex]. I selected 3M width as my raised beds are 4′ wide – so that means a clear height of “(3 metres – 4 feet) / 2 in inches” which Google tells me is 35 inches.

I had a roll of 1/2″ Blue MDPE underground water pipe (the Black above ground pipe would be better, as it has UV resistance), so I cut that into 3 Metre lengths, less about 6″ to be able to anchor it down, and stuck some canes in (I cut some 4 foot canes in half, about 2 foot pushed into the ground, and 2 foot sticking out to put the pipe onto. One “hoop” every 6 feet, or so.

The job only took a few minutes, much easier than I expected.

Brassica Netting - Materials

Brassica Netting - Materials

Brassica Netting - Pipe Cut into Section

Brassica Netting - Pipe Cut into Section

Brassica Netting - Pipe Pushed on to Canes

Brassica Netting - Pipe Pushed on to Canes

Brassica Netting - Net Placed over Pipes

Brassica Netting - Net Placed over Pipes

Brassica Planting under the Netting

Brassica Planting under the Netting

Brassica Netting - Done

Brassica Netting - Done

Update:

Go for Black – I thought Green would blend in – it doesn’t!

I use enviromesh for my Carrots (carrot fly is smaller)

In Winter I replace the Debris netting with a wider mesh netting (about 2″ squares) to keep the birds off – the fine mesh of Debris Netting holds the snow and thus the whole structure collapses and squishes the plants underneath. I use the wider 2″ mesh netting in Summer over crops that just need the birds kept off such as Peas, but you could use Debris Netting for them too. I haven’t noticed any problem with light reduction because of the relatively fine-weave of Debris Netting, but it is also used to “throw” over greenhouses to provide some shading.

I also “throw” debris netting over the Strawberry bed (but not until they have finished flowering – mustn’t prevent the insects getting to the flowers to pollinate them), this saves me having to erect hoops over the Strawberry bed, and its very easy to pull aside for picking, and then put back again – just a few bricks around the edge to anchor it down.

 

10 Responses to “Brassica Netting – against Cabbage White Butterfly”

  1. harry pheasey Says:

    Looks a brilliant idea but where do you get the neeting and pipe

    • kgarden Says:

      I got the pipe off eBay. The netting came from Tarpaflex – I choose the 3M width – which provides about 3′ height across a 4′ wide bed (where 2M width would only give a little over a foot across a 4′ bed and still under 2′ height across a 3′ bed)

  2. Rick Says:

    This is great idea …. I’ll be doing it this year .. having lost almost all my crop to Cabbage White Nasties

  3. I think the netting looks fab – it does stand out but then so does any netting!

  4. Thanks for this, ive seen them on the plot but not known how to make them!

  5. Blicky Says:

    I have trying to use those blue water pipes for ages, forcing them into the ground. I never figured in pushing them over canes stuck in the ground. So simple when you realise
    Thanks for the post, very good

  6. Rick Says:

    Just an addition I made … I laid lengths of bamboo along apex of hoops .. and cabvle tied each to to the bamboo …. made whole thing much more stable.

  7. This is really helpful, will try it out as Im never very happy however I do my netting!

  8. Ayaana Shepherd Says:

    What a simple and practical fix to my same problems with birds and white cabbage moths. Thank you so much. I think I’ll try growing cabbage and Brussels Sprouts again.


Leave a Comment